Briana L. Urena-Ravelo
1 min readMay 9, 2017

--

You’re not wrong, but it wasn’t that I didn’t consider any of that so much as I wasn’t talking about that. My concern is stopping white America and Europe first, and they can concern themselves with decolonizing themselves. Also, Latinx is not a race-when I talk about Black and Indigenous people I include Black and Indigenous Latinxs and omit European ones. I do agree with a lot of what you say and understand the history of Roman colonialism in Europe (which destroyed indigenous cultures there) and that European colonialism is based on that model, but to erase that colonialism for the past 500 years has been racialized and based on white supremacy is revisionist and white supremacist. There is nothing wrong with me turning my focus on the way race intersects here and I find it telling that I always get white people derailing from that point.

--

--

Briana L. Urena-Ravelo

Writer. Community organizer. Errant punk. Ne’er do well. Fire starter. Email: Dominicanamalisima@gmail.com