Briana L. Urena-Ravelo
2 min readJan 19, 2017

When I was obsessed with a man who didn’t even like me very much but thought I was a convenient option (for now! for tonight!)I spent a lot of time in Houseman field.

I am too easily influenced by experiences and memories and their associations with spaces and places/smells/things will remind me too much of people and those things get ruined for me if the person is exceptionally horrid. I already had a few really bad fights with him in Houseman, so when I cut things off with him I made sure not to do it there so it wouldn’t get ruined for me for forever. The field didn’t do anything to me! The field didn’t make me crazy (which neither did he but he certainly did not help). So I spend a lot of time in Houseman when it is nice so I can remember the good ways I have felt and have been treated and remind it how thankful I am for being a good friend.

It is likely the bittersweetness of that time in my life still singes my associations of this place yet, (as does the time a white dude colonized and put a hammock in my favorite tree,) but it’s still the best place for me to be. Glad the weather was nice enough last night for a visit.

Briana L. Urena-Ravelo

Writer. Community organizer. Errant punk. Ne’er do well. Fire starter. Email: Dominicanamalisima@gmail.com