Briana L. Urena-Ravelo
1 min readAug 8, 2017

--

So I cannot expect others to change but you demand I must?

Blame rests with the guilty, I am merely giving what belongs to them. No amount of disgruntled whining or demanding I take your burden will change that. I took action by leaving the church and imploring others to consider doing so as well or in the very least look honestly at its vile acts, and by writing about my experiences and speaking out against the violence it has perpetuated and yet does to this day. I seek to see it end so people can be free. That is my taking charge.

I will not however, internalize abuse and be quiet, thus doing your dirty work and taking on the responsibilities you are shirking. It seems like you expect Black women to be the moral mules of the white Christian church. You should read the article as I wrote it, not as you wish to interpret it, and be about your day.

--

--

Briana L. Urena-Ravelo

Writer. Community organizer. Errant punk. Ne’er do well. Fire starter. Email: Dominicanamalisima@gmail.com