Briana L. Urena-Ravelo
1 min readSep 27, 2016

--

Right! Because it is a provened scientifical factuality that you can care either about representation in media or institutional violence and racism, but not both, and they have absolutely nothing to do with each other.

If you were to look up my name, you would not find that I am the co-founder of my city’s Black Lives Matter chapter or any news, media and videos of the protests and actions I’ve organized, panels and workshops I’ve been on, interactions and confrontations with police, pieces I’ve written extensively about institutional racism and anti-Blackness, or comments I’ve made about institutional violence, not at all. In fact, I was only born yesterday, and I exist solely to comment on this C-grade celebrity’s anti-Blackness, which again, has absolutely nothing at all in any way, shape, or form to do with other manifestations of anti-Blackness, because it wasn’t like the state used media to push its ideology and agenda and make it easier to enact anti-Blackness on an institutional level because we were already convinced of it socially and culturally.

I’m always so glad when people come in with oversimplified, reductionist false-ass binaries because they’re boring and unimaginative yet intent on arrogantly telling other people how to feel and wonder why I’m not like that myself. I should actually listen to them and dumb myself down to get to their level! Also, thanks for paternalistically explaining white supremacy to me, lawd knows even though I’ve been an advocate and writing on the subject for most of my life, I have no idea!

--

--

Briana L. Urena-Ravelo

Writer. Community organizer. Errant punk. Ne’er do well. Fire starter. Email: Dominicanamalisima@gmail.com