Briana L. Urena-Ravelo
2 min readOct 21, 2016

--

OK, so I’ll say this:

I really agree hard with what you’ve written her. I’ve said it often that I don’t care to diversify or make power and supremacy more “culturally sensitive” because I want to be free of, not included in, their violence, and to be free means to ultimately see these systems abolished. So it’s super damn frustrating how many social justice advocates and identity politic-championing people simply see diversity and inclusion, not justice and abolition, as their goal. I didn’t say no celebratory shit about trans folks being allowed to openly serve in the US military because as a radical with roots in the global south, that’s not a win for me. As a queer Afro-Latina, I’m not just waiting til the day comes that a queer Afro-Latina can be president. I’m waiting for the day when they’re no presidents exploiting and killing folks like me both domestically and globally via police state and the military industrial complex.

However, I feel you need to include and implicate yourself as a white person little more. Ideologically I understand you’re calling out people who you do not align with and are on some rife bullshit, but they’re still white, and they’re ultimately still your folks.

Related to that, there’s something to be said about the fact that, even though it isn’t your place or lane to call them out, there are still lots of folks of color and other marginalized communities that do still care deeply about identity and representational politics, and those things do still matter. They shouldn’t though, as you said, be the end all, be all, and in some instances, it doesn’t fucking matter if they’re being “insensitive” by not including us or disrespecting us in a system of violence and supremacy, because the whole damn thing is a mess in the first place and that should be our focus. It’s a tricky thing to navigate, I just balk at wholesale dismissing those things as “white liberal garbage” though, of course, much of it is.

Anyways, thanks a lot for this piece!

--

--

Briana L. Urena-Ravelo

Writer. Community organizer. Errant punk. Ne’er do well. Fire starter. Email: Dominicanamalisima@gmail.com