Briana L. Urena-Ravelo
1 min readSep 27, 2016

--

Oh, OK.

Never mind that I never said any of that and your reach is so tremendous I’m wondering if your arm is still even attached to your body.

Never mind that I’m absolutely dripping in pride of my Blackness now, and have dedicated my life to upending and challenging whiteness and white supremacy, and most of my writing on this very blog is about that.

Never mind that this whole piece is a very vociferous love for my Blackness, for my Afro-Latinidad.

GOD. Thanks for helping me see the light! I’ll go back in time and tell my 3–7 year old who had no buffers against the hundreds of years-old culture and institution of white supremacy and anti-Blackness that I was living in and indoctrinated by that a stranger on the internet has a problem with me admitting that I was negatively influenced and hurt by the lack of representation. Wow, what a stupid kid I was, right, now weak, why wasn’t I able to challenge white supremacy and handle it like an adult can by the time I was 3, honestly?? Also, my calling out the lack of representation explicitly to say I won’t defend anti-Blackness or come to bat for white people because I’m no longer ashamed of myself and I never had a need to be in the first place makes me a victim, apparently. Also I needed a non-Afro-Latina to dictate my feelings and my narrative in this space because I cannot handle it myself.

Did I cover everything here?

--

--

Briana L. Urena-Ravelo

Writer. Community organizer. Errant punk. Ne’er do well. Fire starter. Email: Dominicanamalisima@gmail.com