Briana L. Urena-Ravelo
1 min readAug 15, 2017

--

1. Who are you?

2. Are you asking sincerely or whining rhetorically to assert you couldn’t so anything and I have no right to demand you to? I did something about it and I feel like I have more at risk than you do. Why are you trying to make excuses for to me, then?

3. Seriously, who are you? Because you can’t make demands like that of people you don’t know. Community organizing is needed to be a good activist, group or org, which means actually getting to know affected people and these groups and supporting them, not tokenizing them to fill your marginalized quota or building superficial connections to benefit yourself. This is about our mutual liberation, not white people looking good.

4. BLM GR and other groups the like are not your pets or yesmen. If they don’t show up, they didn’t want to, weren’t invited, or the relationship wasn’t built. That’s on you, not them.

5. Nowhere did you thank me or ask to bombard me with these “questions,” by the way, but you can still compensate me for my time.

https://www.paypal.me/puramala

--

--

Briana L. Urena-Ravelo

Writer. Community organizer. Errant punk. Ne’er do well. Fire starter. Email: Dominicanamalisima@gmail.com